What To Watch Tonight – Monday, March 25, 2019

What To Watch Tonight? The best options tonight are at 10pm with a tie between part 2 of the 2 night mid-season premiere of Into the Badlands and the Season 2 premiere of the History Channel medieval drama, Knightfall (Mark Hamill joins the cast this season!). We’ll be watching both as our Top Picks to Watch Tonight. Also on, Arrow, Shadowhunters and The Fix. On The Voice, Battle Rounds begin. What are you watching?!?

Photo by José Sarmento Matos

Continue reading “What To Watch Tonight – Monday, March 25, 2019”

What To Watch Tonight – Sunday, March 24, 2019

What To Watch Tonight? Our Top Pick To Watch Tonight is Into the Badlands. The post-apocalyptic martial arts western returns tonight for its final eight episodes and we couldn’t be more excited for this long time PCR fave to be back! Also high on our list, American Gods, Good Girls, and an all new The Walking Dead. What are you watching?

Daniel Wu as Sunny – Into the Badlands _ Season 3, Episode 9 – Photo Credit: Aidan Monaghan/AMC

Continue reading “What To Watch Tonight – Sunday, March 24, 2019”

What To Watch Tonight – Friday, March 22, 2019

What To Watch Tonight? Our Top Pick To Watch Tonight is Proven Innocent at 9pm. Also high on the list, Blindspot, Dynasty and The Blacklist. With March Madness gearing up, CBS has gone basketball for a while so no new Friday night shows. Boooo.  What are you watching?

PROVEN INNOCENT: L-R: Rachelle Lefevre and Kelsey Grammer in the “A CinderHella Story” episode of PROVEN INNOCENT airing Friday, March 22 (9:00-10:00 PM ET/PT) on FOX. ©2019 Fox Broadcasting Co. Cr: Jean Whiteside/FOX

Continue reading “What To Watch Tonight – Friday, March 22, 2019”

TV Recap: American Soul – Blow Your ‘Fro …

American Soul
“Fault Lines” (Episode 105)
February 26, 2019

In last week’s episode of American Soul, JT and his family were evicted; Don tried charming Ilsa to get back on Motown’s good side; and the Soul Train dancers griped about not being paid. There was a backdrop of police brutality in the fallout from the JT jewelry heist cop killing.

Catch up on all the action from last week with our deep dive recap and review here. Now, onto this week’s electrifying installment of American Soul … BEWARE OF SPOILERS!!!

Still of K. Michelle as Martha Reeves from BET’s “American Soul” episode 105. (Photo: Jace Downs/BET)

Continue reading “TV Recap: American Soul – Blow Your ‘Fro …”

TV Recap: American Soul – What Time Is It?

American Soul 
“Just Us” (Episode 104)
February 19, 2019

Last week on American Soul: Don’s son made a cross country trip to make a play to live with his dad. In addition to family trouble, Don faced some challenges in booking talent, filtering out riff raff, and controlling his dance troupe. JT’s world is closing in when the cops get a name on the cop killing (from the jewelry heist gone wrong), Tessa and Don argue, a lot, and the dancers are unhappy about not getting paid.

Catch up on last week’s deep dive recap here.  Continue reading to find out what happened in tonight’s all new episode of American Soul … BEWARE OF SPOILERS!! 

Still of Iantha Richardson as Tessa Lorraine from BET’s “American Soul” episode 104. (Annette Brown/BET)

Continue reading “TV Recap: American Soul – What Time Is It?”

What To Watch Tonight – Thursday, March 21, 2019

What To Watch Tonight?  Our Top Pick Tonight is Flack, on POP. Tonight’s episode features the fantastic Bradley Whitford as a client in trouble.  Also new tonight that we like, Gotham (BANE!!), The Orville, Project Runway, and Supernatural.

On Twitter, we’ll be continuing our Friday Night Lights series re-watch. Tonight, at 9pm (ET), we’re watching episodes 8 and 9 of Season 1!  Follow me, @popcultureview, on Twitter and use the hashtags #FNLRewatch and #GoPanthers.

Photo: POP

Continue reading “What To Watch Tonight – Thursday, March 21, 2019”

What To Watch Tonight – Wednesday, March 20, 2019

What To Watch Tonight?  For us, Syfy Wednesdays can’t be beat. Tonight, our Top Picks To Watch are an all new The Magicians AND the season finale of Deadly Class. Also on, all new Whiskey Cavalier on ABC, and Riverdale and the season (series?) finale of All American on The CW. What are you watching?

DEADLY CLASS — “Sink With California” Episode 109 — Pictured: Lana Condor as Saya — (Photo by: Katie Yu/SYFY)

Continue reading “What To Watch Tonight – Wednesday, March 20, 2019”

Music Review: The Brussels Philharmonic – New York Debut, Live at Carnegie Hall

The Brussels Philharmonic
New York Debut – Live From Carnegie Hall
March 16,2019

On Saturday, March 16, 2019, I had the great opportunity to spend an evening with the Brussels Philharmonic, making their New York Debut at Carnegie Hall. It was a spectacular evening of high energy music performed flawlessly and with contagious enthusiasm and joy.

The conductor and music director, Stéphane Denève,  introduced the orchestra, explaining that it’s members comprise of 19 nationalities, based in the capital of Europe. This very cosmopolitan makeup reflects them being housed in the global hub that is Brussels (the capital of Belgium).

Founded in 1935, the Brussels Philharmonic “enjoys an excellent reputation for performing premieres of new works and has collaborated with world-renowned composers such as Bart6k, Stravinsky, Messiaen, and Francesconi. The orchestra’s historic home port is the Flagey building, where it rehearses and performs in Studio 4, in acoustic terms one of the top concert 7 halls in the world.” The orchestra has recorded music for popular films, including The Aviator and The Artist.

The Brussels Philharmonic. Photo: Carnegie Hall

Continue reading “Music Review: The Brussels Philharmonic – New York Debut, Live at Carnegie Hall”

Movie Review: Captain Marvel – Does It Go Higher? Further? Faster?

Captain Marvel
March 8, 2019

Captain Marvel is the start of a new chapter for the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU). It’s inevitable that we’re going to lose some of the major players at the conclusion of Avengers: End Game. Prepare yourself! Captain Marvel had the hard task of delivering the promise of an exciting future. So did it live up to the hype?

Continue reading “Movie Review: Captain Marvel – Does It Go Higher? Further? Faster?”

What To Watch Tonight – Tuesday, March 19, 2019

What to Watch Tonight?  American Soul (we’re catching up on recaps, catch up on all our coverage here) is our Top Pick To Watch. The night is marked by series premieres, including Mental Samurai, The Village (which we did not like), and Lost Gold of World War II.   What are you watching?

Photo by Ample/HISTORY

Continue reading “What To Watch Tonight – Tuesday, March 19, 2019”