TV Recap: Manifest – Help Me …

Manifest
“Off Radar” (Episode 106)
November 5, 2018

If you aren’t caught up on Manifest, you can read the last review here! It’s been a while so here is a list of Montego Air Flight 828 passengers we have met so far:

  •         Michaela Stone: police officer whose fiancé married her best friend while she was missing, Ben’s sister, hearing voices and seeing things  since returning
  •         Ben Stone: Michaela’s brother and father to Cal, hearing music and voices in his head since returning
  •         Cal Stone:  Ben’s son, Leukemia patient – condition hasn’t changed in 5 years due to flight, treatment from Saanvi’s research may cure him
  •         Saanvi Bahl: Doctor, working on cancer research, led to breakthrough on cancer treatment 5 years prior, right before the flight. Now seeing things.
  •         Radd: Went to Jamaica to play for philharmonic, left son behind
  •         Kelly Taylor: Gave interviews with reporters, shot at end of episode 2. Dead.
  •         Bethany Collins: flight attendant, helped Thomas leave Jamaica and come to the US
  •        Thomas: Stowaway on Flight 828, dated Bethany’s cousin
(Photo by: Craig Blankenhorn/NBC/Warner Brothers)

And now for this week’s episode … SPOILERS AHEAD!

Continue reading “TV Recap: Manifest – Help Me …”

TV Recap: The Masked Singer – Love It Or Leave It?

The Masked Singer
Love It Or Leave It? Review

January 2, 2019

Readers of PopCultureReview know we don’t usually discuss reality shows, let alone cover or review them. However, we felt that the oddity that is Fox’s The Masked Singer deserved some attention.

THE MASKED SINGER Logo – Black © FOX 2018

A reality singing show with celebrities (“celebrities”?) dressed as animals? A panel of judges?, professional guessers?, which includes Jenny McCarthy and Ken Jeong among its number? Just typing that out, I am thinking, “what the fuck is this show?” Well, our newest PCR contributor drew the short straw, Sheila, volunteered to give The Masked Singer a watch and see what it is about and whether it’s worth the hype that it is receiving.

To give you some context, in its most recent week (Week 3), The Masked Singer was the most watched show the entire night in the key 18-49 demographic.  That is a night (Wednesday, January 16) which included brand new episodes of the NBC hits, Chicago’s Fire, PD and Med (these 3 shows did win the night for overall viewers).

This was the night that Peacock, Monster, Unicorn, Deer and Lion performed and Joel McHale joined as a guest panelist. There is a sentence I never thought I’d type.  Without further delay, let’s find out if Sheila wanted to Love It Or Leave It? BEWARE OF SPOILERS!

Continue reading “TV Recap: The Masked Singer – Love It Or Leave It?”

What To Watch Tonight – Friday, January 18, 2019

What To Watch Tonight? Fridays are working their way back up to good programming. Our Top Picks to Watch Tonight are MacGyver and The Blacklist. Also on, new Hawaii Five-0, Blindspot and Hell’s Kitchen.  What are you watching?

Photo: Guy D’Alema/CBS

Continue reading “What To Watch Tonight – Friday, January 18, 2019”

Movie News: John Wick: Chapter 3 – Parabellum – First Look Trailer and Posters

John Wick: Chapter 3 – Parabellum
Movie Trailer
January 17, 2019

As promised a couple of days ago, Lionsgate dropped the first long trailer for the much anticipated, John Wick: Chapter 3. The third movie in the cult favorite franchise premieres on May 17, 2019. This is the first in the series to have a subtitle, “Parabellum.”

“If you want peace, prepare for war.”

We’ve got the trailer below as well as the official movie poster and movie stills published on the film’s website.

The third installment features Keanu Reeves returning to the titular role of John Wick, the reluctant master assassin that wanted out but keeps getting pulled back in. From the trailer, it looks like the core cast of Ian McShane, Laurence Fishburne, and Lance Reddick are all returning for the new movie. Big name newcomers to the cast include, Halle Berry (as “Sofia”), Jason Mantzoukas (as “Tick Tock Man), and Anjelica Huston (as “The Director”).

Continue reading “Movie News: John Wick: Chapter 3 – Parabellum – First Look Trailer and Posters”

TV Recap: All American – Somewhere Better To Be …

All American
“Keep Ya Head Up” (Episode 109)
January 16, 2019

Man, it feels like it’s been more than a month since the last new All American. Wait. It has been more than a month. Anyway, we’re back and breaking down all the action from the mid-season premiere, “Keep Ya Head Up.”

To refresh your memory from the Winter finale, Spencer and the Beverly Eagles won the big Homecoming game against those cheaters at Malibu but elsewhere, things were falling apart. Shawn bought his way out of the gang life only to be shot and killed as we was getting ready to celebrate with Coop. Jordan was lured into taking drugs by the hot Malibu cheerleader only to be put on the carpet for a drug test after the game. The episode ended with Coach Baker switching out his son’s urine sample. Ruh Roh. Problems on problems.

Catch up on the entire recap of the last episode here. Now, on to the deep dive recap and review of tonight’s all new All American, “Keep Ya Head Up” … BEWARE OF SPOILERS!

Continue reading “TV Recap: All American – Somewhere Better To Be …”

What To Watch Tonight – Thursday, January 17, 2019

What To Watch Tonight?  Our Top Pick To Watch Tonight is the all new The Orville. Also on, all new Gotham, Supernatural (back from Winter break), Brooklyn Nine-Nine and The Titan Games. At 10pm, Bravo premieres a new DIY landscape show, Backyard Envy. Online, Season 2 of Star Trek: Discovery premieres on CBS All Access (that’s probably what I’ll be watching at 10pm).

Cr: Ray Mickshaw/FOX

Continue reading “What To Watch Tonight – Thursday, January 17, 2019”

TV Recap: Deadly Class – Welcome to Kings Dominion …

Deadly Class
“Reagan Youth” (Episode 100)
January 16, 2019

Deadly Class, the newest series from Syfy, is based on a series of graphic novels written by Rick Remender and illustrated by Wesley Craig. The comic book series is published by Image Comics and has been running since early 2014. The show is being counts Anthony and Joe Russo (Avengers Infinity War) among its executive producers and stars Benjamin Wadsworth, Benedict Wong, and Lana Condor.

In short, Deadly Class follows the story of Marcus Lopez Arguello, a disaffected youth in 1987 San Francisco, as he goes from orphaned and homeless to enrolled in a special school that trains the next generation of the world’s top assassins. King’s Dominion Atelier of the Deadly Arts isn’t like your high school. Classes here include things like deadly poisons and hand to hand combat. Students are broken into factions and you never know when explosive violence may break out. Run by Master Lin, Kings Dominion teaches Marcus and his “friends” to kill because sometimes, people deserve to die.

Photo: Syfy Key Art

Read on for our deep dive recap and review of Episode 1 of Deadly Class, “Reagan Youth” … BEWARE OF SPOILERS!

Continue reading “TV Recap: Deadly Class – Welcome to Kings Dominion …”

What To Watch Tonight – Wednesday, January 16, 2019

What To Watch Tonight?  Our Top Pick To Watch Tonight is the series premiere of Deadly Class (which we’ll be recapping) as well as All American, which returns from its Winter break tonight (catch up on our latest recap here). Also on, Riverdale, VikingsGordon Ramsay’s 24 Hours to Hell & Back, The Masked Singer and The Dictator’S Playbook.

Photo: Syfy Key Art

Continue reading “What To Watch Tonight – Wednesday, January 16, 2019”

TV Recap: The Passage – This Is How The World Ends …

The Passage
“Pilot” (Episode 101)
January 14, 2019

If you read our Love It Or Leave It? Review for The Passage, you know we’re big fans. This was a no brainer show for us to recap because there is so much juicy detail in the episodes. At PCR, we love to dig in, rehash and relive great TV. Our recaps are blow by blow accounts of the episodes, full of details you might have missed and quotes that we think resonate and should be highlighted.

So, let’s not waste a minute. Read on for the deep dive recap and review of  The Passage episode, “Pilot” … BEWARE OF SPOILERS!

Continue reading “TV Recap: The Passage – This Is How The World Ends …”