What To Watch – Friday, November 17, 2017

Let’s assume you’re not going to see Justice League tonight. On that assumption, Pop Culture Review has the best choices for what you should watch tonight!! MacGyver is our number one Friday night treat, but we’re  also going to be spending sometime tonight and this weekend binge watching The Punisher, Netflix’s newest Marvel show entry which released today.    Other choices tonight include Gordon Ramsey torturing chef-testants and some great movies with Harry Potter and The Princess Bride on tap.

Continue reading “What To Watch – Friday, November 17, 2017”

Movie News: Fantastic Beasts Sequel Name Revealed

This morning, Warner Bros. announced the name of the previously untitled sequel to the 2016 hit film, Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, which starred Eddie Redmayne as Newt Scamander, author of said book Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them.

Warner Bros.

Continue reading “Movie News: Fantastic Beasts Sequel Name Revealed”

Mythbusters Returns! New … but Improved?

Photo courtesy of Science Channel.

After a year and a half absence, the classic Discovery Channel show, Mythbusters, is set to return to the airwaves on November 15, 2017. Moving from the Discovery Channel flagship to the its nerdier cousin, Science (often abbreviated to simply, SCI), Mythbusters is looking to recapture the glory of its predecessor show while at the same time, raising the ante as it takes viewers on a wild ride of debunking age old myths. Featuring all new hosts, all new myths, an all new set, and even an all new Buster, this rebooted experiment show is NOT your father’s Mythbusters. IT’S BETTER!!

Continue reading “Mythbusters Returns! New … but Improved?”

What To Watch – Wednesday, November 15, 2017

“Angela, do you have something to tell me?” was how we left the one take episode of Mr. Robot last week.  From the pictures released for tonight’s episode, it looks like we pick up right there.  But tonight is also super exciting because Mythbusters returns to your TV. Check out our review of these 2 new Mythbusters and tune in tonight to see what trouble Jon and Brian can get up  to.

Continue reading “What To Watch – Wednesday, November 15, 2017”

What To Watch – Tuesday, November 14, 2017

The CW Arrow-Verse dominates our Tuesdays and tonight, we’re particularly excited for the Council of Wells on The Flash, so many Harrison Wells in 1 room.  Its dizzying.  At 9pm, we’re checking out DC’s Legends of Tomorrow and at 10pm, we’re sticking around Damnation … for now, but also interested in Discovery’s new show, Bushcraft Build-Off – I always enjoy watching handy people build things I could never do.

Photo: Katie Yu/The CW

Continue reading “What To Watch – Tuesday, November 14, 2017”

REVIEW — Assassin’s Creed: Origins

Q&A Corner
Video Game Review:
Assassin’s Creed: Origins
By: Pop Culture Andrew

Assassin’s Creed: Origins was released on October 27, 2017 and the hype just doesn’t stop. Since the initial leak in January of 2016, I have been waiting and on the edge of my seat for the announcement and release of the newest edition to the franchise. After Ubisoft took a year off due to their most recent entries lacking depth and story, they have given birth to a new era of how to play AC; the RPG style brings a breath of fresh air to their games.

Assassin’s Creed Origins may never replace Ezio and Assassin’s Creed II, but here are some things you should know and reasons Origins is perhaps one of the best games releasing this Fall.

Pass or Play? Highly Recommend Play. The open world RPG environment together with a completely revamped combat system and character leveling, makes this 10th major installment in the Assassin’s Creed family, a must play  for any fan of the series and a great entry title for new players alike.  Assassin’s Creed Origins is available on PS4, PS4 Pro, Xbox One, PC, and Xbox One X.

Continue reading “REVIEW — Assassin’s Creed: Origins”

What To Watch – Monday, November 13, 2017

Every Monday we tell you how much we love Monday night TV and its true again tonight. Its an embarrassment of riches.  In addition to our normal Favorites, Supergirl at 8, The Gifted at 9 and The Brave (our official favorite new show of 2017), we are happy to add Ride with Norman Reedus and Robert Kirkman’s Secret History of Comics. to our What to Watch list.

Photo Credit: Justina Mintz/AMC

Continue reading “What To Watch – Monday, November 13, 2017”

What To Watch – Friday, November 10, 2017

MacGyver uses Tabasco sauce and a heater to perform a heart a transplant. What more do you need to know in order to watch MacGyver tonight?  But Mac is only the warm up for the season (maybe series? probably series) finale of Marvel’s Inhumans at 9. I’ve really enjoyed the show and I hope ABC gives it legs for a season 2 but there are so many damn haters out there.

We’ve also got some movie recommendations and the Injustice 2 Group Playoffs over on ELeague. Nerd Up!

(ABC/Karen Neal)

Continue reading “What To Watch – Friday, November 10, 2017”

What To Watch – Thursday, November 9, 2017

Arrow remains my favorite of the The CW Superhero shows and so I love Thursday nights but after that and Gotham … I’m really just hanging around for CBS’s new show, S.W.A.T. And not much else.   Speaking of Arrow?  Slade is back  tonight. We love when Deathstroke comes to town!!

Photo: Cate Cameron/The CW

Continue reading “What To Watch – Thursday, November 9, 2017”