TV Recap: Reverie – “East Berlin”

Reverie
“The Black Mandala” (Episode 107)
July 18, 2018

Last week’s episode, we saw Holly having to choose between the life she had to give up because of an accident and the world she wasn’t sure she wanted to be a part of anymore. After Mara was able to convince her that her sister needed her and that if she stayed she would end up dying in the program as well, she went back. We also met Chris — not only Holly’s therapist but also Mara’s ex-boyfriend, wondering if we will see more of him in the upcoming episodes. If they grow closer how will Paul handle that cause we can all clearly see that he really cares about Mara. Now if you thought I forgot, I didn’t, that big bomb they left us with at the end of the episode. Ray, he is still alive and I wonder how this will get tied into the upcoming episodes.

I hope you are prepared with all the essentials for this recap, it’s going to to be a long one. Without further adieu spoilers ahead.

Continue reading “TV Recap: Reverie – “East Berlin””

What To Watch – Wednesday, July 18, 2018

Wednesday Nights are just so much fun – with new Reverie (our Top Pick To Watch Tonight – read Kayla’s latest recap here), Colony and Six holding down 10pm – there is a ton to look forward to. Earlier in the night, we have the new Kevin Hart-hosted game show, TKO: Total Knock Out and Gordon Ramsey ALL night.

REVERIE — “The Black Mandala” Episode 107 — Pictured: (l-r) Sarah Shahi as Mara Kint, Ben J. Pierce as Ehmet Alwad — (Photo by: Greg Gayne/NBC)

Continue reading “What To Watch – Wednesday, July 18, 2018”

TV Recap: Dietland – I Don’t Like That …

Dietland
“Rad Fatties” (Episode 108)
July 16, 2018

When we ended last week, Plum was blowing up Kitty’s spot by announcing her own truth – that she was the one Kitty’s Girls were speaking to all along. Tonight’s action picks up where that bombshell left off.

Plum is feeling pretty woke y’all. Let’s see what happens. Read on for our deep dive recap & review … after the jump (spoilers!! spoilers ahead)!

Continue reading “TV Recap: Dietland – I Don’t Like That …”

What To Watch – Tuesday, July 17, 2018

A more than decent night of TV with new episodes of The Bold Type, our Top Pick to Watch Tonight), The Outpost and Animal Kingdom.

Most importantly, on Twitter, at 10p (EST), we’ll be live tweeting our next TWO installments of the LOST Series re-watch with Episodes 13 and 14: “Hearts and Minds” (a Boone (and Shannon) episode) and “Special” (a Michael and Walt episode)!  Follow me on Twitter (@Popcultureview) and tweet along with us! We have to go back!

Photo: ABC

Continue reading “What To Watch – Tuesday, July 17, 2018”

What To Watch – Monday, July 16, 2018

Summer Mondays are so good because Dietland, our Top Pick to Watch Tonight (catch up with our latest recap here), is one of THE best Summer shows on TV right now. Followed it up with Unapologetic With Aisha Tyler (the Dietland after show), So You Think You Can Dance, American Ninja Warrior and Disney’s Fairy Tale Weddings, and you’ve got yourself quite the night of television! 

Joy Nash as Plum Kettle – Dietland _ Season 1, Episode 8 – Photo Credit: Patrick Harbron/AMC

Continue reading “What To Watch – Monday, July 16, 2018”

What To Watch – Friday, July 13, 2018

Its Fireball Friday which can only mean one thing?!? You need to tune into TV Talk with Jay and Mike (https://somanyshows.com/sms-on-air) at 9/8c!!   You DO NOT want to miss tonight’s show!

Also, Overwatch League Playoffs continue tonight!! Elsewhere, Quantico, Cooper’s Treasure, and The Dead Files are all new.  Fridays in the Summer are rough.  See you on TV Talk!

Continue reading “What To Watch – Friday, July 13, 2018”

The 70th Emmy Awards Nominees and Our Predictions!

Morning!! Yesterday, the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences announced its full list of Nominees for the 70th Emmy Awards.

Winners will be announced on Monday, September 17, 2018 at 8pm (ET) on NBC (the Creative Arts Emmy Awards will air Saturday, September 15 at 8pm (ET) on FXX).

You can read the full list of Nominees here, BUT, read on for our feelings on who should win a brief selection of categories (not who will win – I don’t have a say in that … yet).

Photo: Television Academy

Continue reading “The 70th Emmy Awards Nominees and Our Predictions!”

TV Recap: Marvel’s Cloak & Dagger – Two Variables …

Marvel’s Cloak & Dagger
“Lotus Eaters” (Episode 107)
July 12, 2018

We left off last week with B-Ball Duane, on the precipice of redemption, being shot dead by Detective O’Reilly and, in the aftermath, Tyrone cloaking to Tandy’s church and having an inconsolable breakdown. Meanwhile, Tandy learned that the man who may be the centerpiece of her entire Roxxon investigation is catatonic and unresponsive – even to her Hope visions.

As we begin tonight’s episode, out dynamic Duo is at an impasse. Let’s see if they can break the stagnation. Our deep dive recap & review begins … after the jump (spoilers spoilers spoilers)!

Continue reading “TV Recap: Marvel’s Cloak & Dagger – Two Variables …”

TV Recap: Reverie – “I don’t want to leave”

Reverie
“Pas de Deux” (Episode 106)
July 11, 2018

We have survived the two week break for the Fourth of July. Last episode we saw Mara enter the program with Ashley who was in a coma and didn’t know she was in the Reverie program at first. By the end of the episode, lives were saved and Mara was able to help her come to terms with her passing and get one last message to her mom. Lexi went on a not so great first ride along with Charlie and, at the end of the episode, gave Charlie a glimmer into her past. Mara didn’t have any derealization moments during this episode but that doesn’t mean they are gone.

Before diving into the episode, I just want to touch on something or enlighten. “Pas de Deux” means a dance between two people. As you move up the ranks of ballet classes if you get the opportunity to partner it is known as pas de deux. Ballet took up a huge portion of my life and seeing the title of this episode, I knew it was going to hit home in some capacity.

Without further a due, it’s time to break down the episode (Spoilers Ahead – Be warned)!

REVERIE — “Pas De Deux” Episode 106 — Pictured: Sally Pressman as Holly Maxwell — (Photo by: Vivian Zink/NBC) Continue reading “TV Recap: Reverie – “I don’t want to leave””

What To Watch – Thursday, July 12, 2018

All new TV, all night! Our Top Pick To Watch Tonight is Marvel’s Cloak & Dagger (make sure you’re caught up with our recaps here) but we’re also very excited for all new episodes of Queen of the South, Shooter and Girlfriends’ Guide to Divorce. Lots of options all night!!!

(Freeform/Alfonso Bresciani) OLIVIA HOLT, AUBREY JOSEPH, TIM KANG

Continue reading “What To Watch – Thursday, July 12, 2018”