TV Recap: Black Lightning – Who’s Life Is This?

Black Lightning
“Shadow of Death: The Book of War”
April 17, 2018

Black Lightning concluded its freshman season tonight and the questions on everyone’s minds: Will Black Lightning recover from his injury last week? If so, will he recover in time to be useful in a final fight? Will Henderson discover his bestie’s secret identity? Will Whale survive and thrive? Will Proctor and the ASA? Will Lynn and Jennifer embrace that which Anissa and Jefferson already have?

Every  single one of these questions is resolved tonight so sit back, relax, and enjoy our deep dive recap & review of the Black Lightning season finale, “Shadow of Death: The Book of War” … after the jump (warning: spoilers!!)

Continue reading “TV Recap: Black Lightning – Who’s Life Is This?”

What To Watch – Wednesday, April 18, 2018

Riverdale‘s long awaited “Carrie the Musical” episode is tonight and I cannot wait. Also, new Krypon, The Americans and The Expanse!!

KRYPTON — “House of El” Episode 102 — Pictured: (l-r) Georgina Campbell as Lyta-Zod, Gordon Alexander as Quex-UI — (Photo by: Steffan Hill/Syfy)

Continue reading “What To Watch – Wednesday, April 18, 2018”

What To Watch – Tuesday, April 17, 2018

Black Lightning gives us its Season 1 finale and I’m sure it’ll be troubling and leave us wanting answers in Season 2. Elsewhere, Legion holds our Top Pick of the night because we can’t get enough of this show.  Other interesting choices tonight include Shadowhunters (has this show become too focused on Malec?), RiseNCIS, The Flash and a new docu-series from Nat Geo on the story of the Hitler Youth.

(Freeform/John Medland)

Continue reading “What To Watch – Tuesday, April 17, 2018”

What To Watch – Monday, April 16, 2018

Supergirl returns to your TV tonight while Scorpion takes its season final bow.  In between we’re watching The Terror, The Crossing and Good Girls!! Mondays, more choices than you know what to do with …

THE CROSSING – “Pax Americana” – A wounded Reece faces off with her pursuers miles away, while Jude’s plan to spend quality time with his son leads to a terrifying ordeal. Back at the camp, Hannah escapes to get her first look at the outside world as Dr. Sophie Forbin arrives to assess the larger threat presented by Leah’s unusual virus. Meanwhile, Emma discovers unsettling information which makes her question who she’s really working for, on “The Crossing,” airing MONDAY, APRIL 16 (10:00-11:00 p.m. EDT), on The ABC Television Network. (ABC/Jack Rowand)
STEVE ZAHN

Continue reading “What To Watch – Monday, April 16, 2018”

TV Recap: Black Lightning – Shall We Begin?

Black Lightning
“The Resurrection and
the Light: The Book of Pain”
April 10, 2018

This episode turned things on its head.  Going into next week’s season finale, things are not great for Team Pierce and the bad guys are definitely ascendant.  In a classic God giveth and God taketh away, just as Lynn and Jefferson were getting their shit together, before the hour is out, its all fallen to pieces.  We are greeted to the return of a Milli Vanilli-looking cosplayer and Tobias and Syonide make a case for their own deranged Rom Com spin-off (which, to be clear … I would totally watch).

Less talk, more action so check out our Recap & Review of Black Lightning‘s “The Resurrection and the Light: The Book of Pain” … after the jump (beware of spoilers)!

Continue reading “TV Recap: Black Lightning – Shall We Begin?”

What To Watch – Friday, April 13, 2018

Its Friday the 13th so you know crazy things will happen today.  Hopefully, by the time you sit down for TV tonight, things will have simmered a bit.  Here are our Top Choices for the evening: MacGyver and Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. A pick for the whole weekend? Binge the first season of Netflix’s reboot series, Lost in Space!

(ABC/Mitch Haaseth)

Continue reading “What To Watch – Friday, April 13, 2018”

What To Watch – Thursday, April 12, 2018

Thursday night has some really solid offerings to watch led by new Arrow, and all of the 8p shows:  Siren, Supernatural, and Gotham. The end of the night isn’t great but you can watch something you taped earlier …

SIREN – “On The Road” – When the military facility goes on high alert, Chris manages to escape, but heÕs not the only one who gets out. This episode of “On The Road” airs Thursday, April 12 (8:00 – 9:01 p.m. EDT) on Freeform. (Freeform/Jeff Weddell)
ELINE POWELL

Continue reading “What To Watch – Thursday, April 12, 2018”

TV Recap: Black Lightning – Can We All Just Get Along?

Black Lightning
“Black Jesus: The Book of Crucifixion”
April 3, 2018

Tonight was a rare Black Lightning episode where we end in a good place but we take a couple of shitty turns to get there.  We have a nice moment of redemption, “a good guy finally wins one” moment, and my dislike for Fowdy grows to ginormous size.

Without further delay, our (long overdue) recap and review of Black Lightning‘s episode, “Black Jesus: The Book of Crucifixion” … after the jump (beware of spoilers)!

Continue reading “TV Recap: Black Lightning – Can We All Just Get Along?”

What To Watch – Wednesday, April 11, 2018

This is a sad day for us here at PCR because its out first Wednesday without The Magicians but, we must soldier on.  Tonight kind of treads water until 10p when we’re excited for new Krypton and The Americans (which we’ll watch later on). At 9p, the season premiere of The Expanse. Before all of that? Harry Potter: A History of Magic – I have no other description but that’s totally enough for me.

KRYPTON — “The World of Rao Episode 104 — Pictured: (l-r) Ann Ogbomo as Alura, Georgina Campbell as Lyta-Zod — (Photo by: Steffan Hill/Syfy) Continue reading “What To Watch – Wednesday, April 11, 2018”

What To Watch – Tuesday, April 10, 2018

Hey, Hey Tuesday, what’s shaking?  At 8pm tonight, you should tape both of the shows we recommend below and watch them later. Why? So you can listen to Pop Culture Mike on TV Talk, hosted by somanyshows.com at: https://somanyshows.com/sms-on-air

We have new Shadowhunters and the return of The Flash at 8pm; Black Lightning, Rise and an “We’re Honoring Elton John” special at 9pm; and Legion at 10pm – Our Top Pick To Watch Tonight!

 

Photo: Michele Crowe/CBS 

Continue reading “What To Watch – Tuesday, April 10, 2018”