What To Watch – Thursday, June 14, 2018

As a night, Summer Thursdays aren’t great but what is great is Marvel’s Cloak & Dagger at 8pm, our Top Pick To Watch Tonight. After that, we’re killing time to Girlfriend’s Guide To Divorce!

(Freeform/Alfonso Bresciani) AUBREY JOSEPH, OLIVIA HOLT

Continue reading “What To Watch – Thursday, June 14, 2018”

TV Recap: Reverie – You just need … L-E-R-I

Reverie
“No More Mr Nice Guy” (Episode 103)
June 13, 2018

Apertus

We are back with a full recon of episode three but before we dive in here is a brief reminder of where we left off at the end episode two (or read my whole recap here). We left seeing Mara deciding not to take her pills when she heard Brynn’s laughter in her house. After pulling one of the pictures she had previously put in a drawer back out, Brynn returns and is standing right in front of her. “Hello There” Mara said and the screen went black.

Alright let’s begin…(spoilers ahead)

Continue reading “TV Recap: Reverie – You just need … L-E-R-I”

What To Watch – Wednesday, June 13, 2018

Wednesday nights are the best nights for fantastic TV. Unfortunately, its ALL stacked at 10pm. Our Top Pick To Watch Tonight is Reverie (catch up on our recap of last week’s episode here) but we’re also checking out Colony AND Six – DVR don’t fail us now!

Earlier in the night, we play with dinosaurs on American Ninja Warrior and listen to the “fucking donkeys” on MasterChef and Gordon’s new series, Gordon Ramsay’s 24 Hours to Hell & Back. But really, its all about getting to 10pm.

REVERIE — “No More Mr. Nice Guy” Episode 103 — Pictured: Ashley Zukerman as Nate Hallo — (Photo by: Colleen Hayes/NBC)

Continue reading “What To Watch – Wednesday, June 13, 2018”

TV Recap: Dietland – It’s Raining Men …

Dietland
“Y Not” (Episode 103)
June 11, 2018

Episode 3 of Dietland goes darker and weirder than ever before while at the same time, speaking truth to power and showing Plum’s life and struggles without a filter, without a censor and in its full colored glory.

Dietland is very well written and very well acted but really, its emotional grip is what draws me in. I am living Plum’s struggles with her … this show grabs hold of me from minute 1 and does not let go of my feelings for a solid hour. Thank God there are commercials so I can breath and relax and think, it’ll be better in the next act.

Read on for our deep dive recap & review of “Y Not” … after the jump (Spoilers – Be warned)!

Continue reading “TV Recap: Dietland – It’s Raining Men …”

What To Watch – Tuesday, June 12, 2018

A Fun night of TV with the season finale of Legion and the season premiere of The Bold Type (in back to back episodes). We also have the normal wacky game shows and reality shows like Beat Shazam and America’s Got Talent. We also have quality  TV with all new HUMANS and Animal Kingdom.

Most importantly, on Twitter, at 10p (EST), we’ll be live tweeting our next installment of the LOST Series re-watch with episode 8, “Confidence Man” (the first Sawyer episode)!  Follow me on Twitter (@Popcultureview) and tweet along with us! We have to go back!

Photo: ABC

Continue reading “What To Watch – Tuesday, June 12, 2018”

TV Recap: Dietland – Results Not Typical …

Dietland
“Tender Belly” (Episode 102)
June 4, 2018

Part two of the two hour series premiere of Dietland, “Tender Belly” introduces us to Verena Baptist – the author of Dietland (the book on the show) and daughter of the famous weight loss Baptists.   Make sure you read our recap and review of Episode 1 here.   If you’re interested in a good discussion of the issues and themes being raised by Dietland, definitely check out our hour long TVTalk discussion with Jen Ponton (Rubi); it was an emotional and impactful hour of frank talk.

As Plum deals with the fallout of her decision to email the “Dear Kitty” contact list to Julia, all of our characters settle into their roles and we learn more about where each of them are coming from. Except Dominic. Other than a sweet tooth, we know shit about that guy so far.

Time to get into the episode, read our recap & review of “Tender Belly” … after the jump (beware of Spoilers)!

Continue reading “TV Recap: Dietland – Results Not Typical …”

What To Watch – Monday, June 11, 2018

There is a reason to watch TV on Mondays this Summer and that reason is Dietland.  Make sure you’re caught up with our recaps of the premiere here and then jump into the show.  You won’t be sorry.   Also on, new So You Think You Can Dance, the penultimate episode of Supergirl, and a new fascinating series on ID, People Magazine Investigates: Cults. 

Joy Nash as Plum – Dietland _ Season 1, Episode 3 – Photo Credit: Patrick Harbron/AMC

Continue reading “What To Watch – Monday, June 11, 2018”

TV Recap: Dietland – I Am A Unicorn. I Am A Goddess …

Dietland
“Pilot” (Episode 101)
June 4, 2018

Dietland, based on the 2015 book by Sarai Walker of the same name, is an indictment of our culture and how we allow … no, how we have encouraged and institutionalized the persistent bullying of women and even more so, overweight women.

Through Plum Kettle’s journey, the newest AMC series seeks to shine a hot white spotlight on all of the ways we have stigmatized and beaten down an entire section of our population, and in no uncertain terms, says, Enough.

Its time to fight back and so you have a choice to make … be part of the solution or get the fuck out of the way. Dietland — the show we need now.  Our recap and review of the Pilot is after the jump (spoilers ahead).

Continue reading “TV Recap: Dietland – I Am A Unicorn. I Am A Goddess …”

What To Watch – Friday, June 8, 2018

Its Fireball Friday which can only mean one thing?!? You need to tune into TV Talk (https://somanyshows.com/sms-on-air) at 9/8c where I will be co-hosting all of the hijinx and shenanigans!  You DO NOT want to miss tonight’s show.

Elsewhere, Phenoms, Live PD, The Last 24, The Dead Files and Undercover Boss: Celebrity Edition are all new.  Fridays in the Summer are rough.  See you on TV Talk!

Continue reading “What To Watch – Friday, June 8, 2018”

What To Watch – Thursday, June 7, 2018

Tonight features the premiere of one of the Summer shows Pop Culture Mike is most excited about, Cloak and Dagger (in back to back episodes) on Freeform.  Otherwise, check out Real Genius at 10pm (especially if you’ve never seen this totally 80’s movie).

The best thing for you to check out tonight is Jay and Mike’s TV Talk discussion with Jen Ponton (Dietland)on the new show and its impact in our culture.  Follow the link below and tune in at 9pm (ET)!

Dietland’s Jen Ponton Joins TV Talk!

Continue reading “What To Watch – Thursday, June 7, 2018”